Skip to content

The Origin: Rootstocks and Charrettes

February 25, 2012

In between classes, I have time and energy to devote to sharing what it is that I am learning. I feel that my interactions with this material (in regenerative design, permaculture principles, living landscapes, etc) will be whole once I spend the time to release it back into the universe.

And thus, I find myself here, hunkering down by the wood stove on this cold February day, while the snow is still falling. The Green Mountains surrounding this little valley provide a shelter of sorts, where my cell phone is useless and big cities are far away. In this little valley, my friends, I hope to cultivate as much material as I can. And in the true nature of grass-roots activism and community design processes, let it have free reign in the wild terrain of the internet, available to those who look for it.

It would also be naive of me to assume that small groups or individuals can be the leaders in this world-wide design challenge.  To develop appropriate living landscapes, ones that restore ecological and human health, communities must unite and collaborate, with the principle that solutions come from place. For a landscape, the best designers are those who live there, who know the patterns, the anomalies. And so, I believe the most efficient way to quickly improve the quality of our landscapes is to scatter the little bits of knowledge that I can find, and leave the rest to the perennial people.

Finally, I suppose I should give mention to the name decision. I hope this explanation is sufficient:

Rootstock: a plant, and sometimes just the stump, which already has an established, healthy root system, used for grafting a cutting or budding from another plant.

Charrette: any collaborative session in which a group of designers draft a solution to a design problem.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

